Car Seat Safety Facts
- Correctly used child safety seats can reduce the risk of death by as much as 71%.
- More than half of the car seats are not used or installed incorrectly.
- In 2019, more than 600 children 12 and younger died in a motor vehicle crashes, and more the 91,000 were injured.
- Children 12 years and younger who died in a crash (for whom restraint use was known) 38% were not buckled up.
- In 2020, 9 children less than eight years of age were killed and 58 suffered serious
injuries as occupants in motor vehicle crashes in Missouri.
* Car seats tips were referenced from Safe Kids, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, and Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety.
Missouri Child Restraint Law (RSMo307.179)
- Children less than 4 years old or less than 40 pounds must be in an appropriate child
- Children ages 4 through 7 who weight at least 40 pounds must be in an appropriate child
safety seat or booster seat unless they are 80 pounds or 4’9” tall.
- Children 8 and over or weighing at least 80 pounds or at least 4’9” tall are required to be
secured by a safety belt or buckled into an appropriate booster seat.
Central Platte Services
The Central Platte Fire Protection District has joined efforts with the Platte County Health Department that deals with car seats. This service solely focuses on car seats and their selection, and installation. Take advantage of this great opportunity and complete the form below and a representative will be in contact with you shortly.